Gunas/Qualities- The Bhagvad Gita, Chapter 7

Krishna talks about how those who practice yoga will get both knowledge and understanding. One you have that knowledge, there won’t be anything left to know.

Not even 0.1% of people try to perfect themselves. Of those who try and even get there, still fewer know Krishna truly. He goes on to list the 8 parts to his manifest nature. They are-

  1. Earth
  2. Water
  3. Fire
  4. Wind
  5. Ether
  6. Mind
  7. Intellect
  8. Ego

MayaMore important is his other part, the one that births all life in the universe. No one’s higher than him. Everything in the world depends on him, like pearls on a string.

Krishna is eternal, the intelligence of the intelligent, the strength of those who are free from passions.

The 3 qualities or gunas are also from him-




The entire world is made of these and fooled by their influence. Fools who are content in their inertia and the world’s maya, know him not.

4 kinds of people worship him-

  • Sufferers
  • Seekers of knowledge
  • Wisdom seekers
  • Wise

Krishna singles out the wise as his favorite, because she follows Krishna in good times and bad.

No one knows Krishna when they are born, but with good deeds they get closer to him. So at the time of death they are not upset, because they know Krishna will liberate them from the cycle of birth and death.


I know only part of you, K

That which I can see


You’re within me and not

For if you are in me

Why is it so tough

To do the right thing?


I need to buckle down

To merge with you


I’m not into deities

Keener on you

No rituals


Easier to think of you as the universe

Rather than Krishna

For some it’s vice versa


Your tale is still a bit untold.

So let’s see how you unfold.




Spread the love

You may also like...